Everyone needs secure, private online conversation
Tunnel X provides a special place for your important conversations. You will love conversing on Tunnel X, and you will feel good that nobody else is reading your messages.
A "tunnel" is an online place for a private conversation. It's a direct connection between two confidants. Tunnel X protects on two levels: it uses secure encryption to guard against hackers and governments while it also keeps your messages away from local prying eyes.
Use Tunnel X in a web browser or download the mobile app. Either way, it's FREE!
What makes Tunnel X different?
- Tunnel X knows nothing about you. Not your name, email address, or phone.
- No addresses. Addresses lead to misaddressed messages and spam.
- No username/password. Your key - a hyper-secure password - is an image file you select (web) or a 256-bit random code (mobile) that nobody ever sees. On top of that, there is a six-digit PIN.
- Your conversation is encrypted, not scanned to target ads. Only you and your confidant can decrypt them.
- Separate private conversations from your regular email that's open all day. And who wants to read thoughtful messages from friends, family, lovers, or important colleagues wedged between spam and dull email chit-chat?
Web and mobile
Use the Tunnel X web site if you want your messages to vanish from your computer when you close the window. You sign into the web site by uploading an image file - a photo you took yourself.
Use the mobile app (iOS and Android) for the convenience of mobile. For security, the app requires a 6-digit PIN every time you open it. The encryption and authentication keys are stored in the app.
You can securely share your account among mobile devices and the web. Expand to as many as you like. Go to "Settings" to get a passphrase to add your account to a new device or the web.
Tunnel X security
We built Tunnel X from the ground up for rock-solid security from multiple threats: hackers, governments, and nosy people around you.
Username/password is over. Your key - a hyper-secure password - is a 256-bit code that you keep. On top of that, there is a six-digit PIN.
Your conversation is encrypted with the key that only you and your confidant can access. Tunnel X super enciphers with AES, TwoFish, and Serpent, all industry standards.
Tunnel X cannot read your messages, and nor can anyone else. Our servers are well protected, but even if someone breaks in, the data he finds will be unreadable.
Our encryption scheme was audited by renowned NYU cryptography professor Yevgeniy Dodis.
Tunnel X privacy
Tunnel X's fundamental goal is to protect our users' privacy. Thus we always choose to obtain as little information about you as possible. We choose to encrypt all of the data you store on our site such that even we cannot read it. For us, privacy is not just a policy, it's our ethos.
Under normal circumstances we do not and will never disclose account data to anyone (and we can't read it either).
Professional editions
If you want private communication with clients or patients, try the professional editions of Tunnel X. These editions are specially structured for a professional and his or her clients, to make connecting as easy as possible. The professional has a convenient dashboard of clients and can quickly tell if there are new messages. There are timers for each client that enable the pro to track how much time is spent in each tunnel (with each client).
Tunnel C is for professionals who communicate with clients: lawyers, agents, accountants, financial planners.
Tunnel T is for therapists (psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers) or any medical professional. It is HIPAA-compatible, so it is suitable for transmitting patient information.
Your tunnel has been created. Now what?
Your account has been created, along with your first tunnel. Your handle is . You chose as your image key, and for your PIN. You'll always need your image key and PIN to sign in, and we won't show you them again, or be able to reset them for you if you forget them!
Now what? You have two choices...
... Either you can give your confidant (that's the person you will share your tunnel with) this URL. When they click it, they'll be taken to Tunnel X, where they'll complete their registration. Your confidant must sign into Tunnel X with this temporary URL within seven days.
... Or you can give this temporary passphrase to your confidant. If you're especially concerned about security, this is the more secure option. For added security, break up the passphrase: send the first sentence by email and the second sentence by text message, or read it over the phone. This prevents anybody else from reaching the tunnel before your confidant. Your confidant must sign into Tunnel X with this temporary passphrase within seven days.